master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Call to worship

It is a call that is for me as an individual and for us as a body of believers.  It is a call to those who do not know God to come and join us in the worship of the one, true God.

The call to worship is a calling, a purpose in our lives – without it we would literally die.

I do not believe that there is a single other purpose, calling, mandate or service that we can give to God that is greater than worship.  Worship is the climax of our touchpoint with God.  It is the time we bend our knee, our heart, our mind, our soul and claim Him to be Lord, Almighty God.

It is a calling out, a calling towards God, it is the very “protein” of our spiritual make-up.

There are two clear times in my life when I sense the call to worship the greatest.

When I find myself slipping away from the presence of God and when I find myself right in the middle of His presence.  Both experiences have the same result – my car, my house, the place where I am worshipping becomes filled with the presence of God.  When His presence is near, my sense of my sin is great and so I spend time crying, repenting, turning back to Him.  When His presence is near, I am almost outside of my own skin with the knowledge, the absolute knowing, that He loves me so much and the few inadequate words to express my love back to Him causes me to fall to my knees, be silent, soak in His presence, and just let Him love me.

I am thankful that I had a pastor who taught me what a call to worship looks like – and he had a son who knew how to bring the church to worship whenever he lead a service.  There are times when I feel I can stretch out my hand and actually touch the hem of His garment.

If we are going to be stewards of God on this earth, lets focus on not just doing the job, but worship, call others to worship, lead others in worship and melt together in the presence of God so that we are filled with God and can serve Him with all of our strength, mind, and soul, with passion and enthusiasm that comes from being filled with God.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Call to worship

  1. David Henderson on said:

    Evan,
    Thank you for these thoughts. I’ll be taking them with me this Sunday morning and all week.

  2. What a wonderful post Evan. I know exactly what you are saying. When God is reminding me of His love for me I am totally overwhelmed and in awe. I cry out in worship and recognition of His grace and mercy to me a sinner. It is such a wonderful experience to know His love and for me it is impossible not to respond in worship and praise.
    Thank you Evan for your visit to my corner of the world. Love

    Shirley Anne xxx

  3. Love this.
    Thanks for your visit.
    Come back again soon.

  4. Reblogged this on An Oasis At Home and commented:
    There is a blogger who has some pretty awesome things to say. I just wanted to share one of those blogs with you and I highly recommend that you take a look more of the Master of Life in Earth, Sky and Sea blog.

  5. Awesome post! Thank you!

    I hope you can share more of it. It is very vital (worship) in our walk with Him.
    It should be the “center” of our prayer life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

