master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Self-consciousness of integrity

Imagine yourself stepping back out of leadership for a moment.

You are now no longer leading, you have officially resigned.  There is no better time than this to look in the eyes of your followers and be absolutely aware of your integrity.

So why wait for such a moment?  Let’s see what our integrity looks like right now.

Have I ever oppressed anyone?  There are so many ways, so many methods and so many reasons to do this.  How many of us can be in right standing under this banner?

Have I ever defrauded someone?  I have been experiencing and seeing more people defrauded of their character.  You can defraud someone of their character, never mind their experience and giftedness.

Have I accumulated wealth for myself?  This is tricky.  I have seen individuals in the charitable world who are doing amazing things receive amazing amounts of personal gifts – I am talking seven digits – and they keep the gifts as personal because it was given to them personally.  How can you not see that the gift was given for the anointing they saw in your life to do ministry?  Why would you not take the gifts and give them back to the ministry that God has given to you to lead?

Have I obtained favours for my friends?  Another tricky one because it is so absolutely easy to give a supply job to a friend as opposed to a stranger.

Have I ever provided for a needy dependent out of the public purse?  Can almost spin anything these days couldn’t we?

Have I ever accepted a bribe?  Again, immediate answer may be no, but think about it.  Favours given require favours in return and if at anytime you knew you needed to go this way, but had to go that way in order to return favour to someone – that is a clear sign of a bribe taking place.  It is so hard to understand that all gifts should be declined or when received shared with everyone and to ensure the proper thanks is given publically so that no personal hold over our lives is possible.

You know as well as I that when one steps out of leadership and another fills the role we vacated, for the next six months, the new leader will be telling everyone the mistakes you had made and how much work is involved in righting the ship.  It just seems to flow that way.  I pray that I will never do that as I move from one position to another.

Lastly, I would prefer to have God examine my heart in my prayer closet.  Feel the awkwardness of my own lack of integrity, ask for forgiveness, move forward in the power of that forgiveness and know without a shadow of doubt that if everything is right between me and Him – then I am good to go.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment