master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

“If you will hand these people over to us…”

My ministry is to the people of the Middle East and North Africa and basically that means I determine to reach those who speak Arabic, Farsi or Turkish languages.

I have been doing this now for almost a year and a half.

It dawned on me this morning, that in my call to serve these people with the gospel of Jesus Christ, that I might have been going about this the wrong way.  Running forward with my call, I think I have failed to ask God to give me these people, that is, open the doors so that the gospel penetrates their hearts and souls – that His Word does not come back void.

A friend and I have been talking.  We want to somehow find a way to have 1 million people world-wide praying for these people, around the clock.  We also know that 6o million Christians have left this region in the last 15 years – we want to find them, then ask them to commit the street they used to live on to the Lord in prayer.  Just because they are living somewhere that is now safe (and they should be praying for the street they live on today), they cannot forget the people they have left behind.

It is like laying a claim on a people’s group that God loves very much and making a commitment, that with the Lord’s help, I will engage and He will give them to me as I minister the Word of God to them.

You have such groups in your life too.

I know some of you live in different countries, some of you are artists, some of you have family, some of you God has revealed secrets of living too, some of you care about justice, some of you love the homeless, and the list goes on.

Lets ask God to give us the people we are trying to reach with the Gospel.  Let us ask Him to give them to us so that He may be glorified.  I am beside myself as to what I should ask for right away – do I ask for a country (I love Morocco), do I focus on a current affair (Syria or Iran), do I focus on the most impossible (Dari speaking group in Afghanistan) – I will have to wait on the Lord for His direction of attention.  Then I will ask Him for those people to be given to me.

May the Lord guide you too and give you the desires of your heart…

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on ““If you will hand these people over to us…”

  1. Great post with a great message, to be honest I never thought about asking God to give these people to me. I have also started a blog on ministry work, what it means to have God in the centre of what we do, I think I might reblog this there.
    Shalom

  2. Such was the prayer of John Knox: “Lord, give me Scotland, else I die.”

    Thanks for your post.

  3. Reblogged this on God-breathed Ministry and commented:
    Pray for God to hand the people who need YOU over to you. Read this post and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

