master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Humiliation

A trait that I see more and more in those that lead – in their desire to rule without trusting God or taking on His character – is the humiliation of those that serve with them.

There is no safe place anymore.

Everyone is taking the first opportunity possible to humiliate the other and set themselves up as superior by calling out and making known the miscues of even their most loyal followers.

I see it in the home – there is so little pride between spouses and they with their children.  I see it in the Boardroom, in the leadership team meetings, in the Church and in the workplace.

Just this week I could tell you ten stories of how I have been humiliated and being a hyper-sensitive individual, I am devastated this morning.  I happen to recover quickly too, so I pray that as my devotional time with God continues, I will be made well before noon.

Then I need to make sure that I do not fall in the same trap – for the temptation to make oneself feel better is sometimes to humiliate someone else.

Why do we humiliate?  It has to be from a position of fear – real or imagined.  It is not a fear that is tangible but one that is spiritual.  Therefore the answer to dealing with the temptation to humiliate is to love and the answer to those of us being humiliated is to receive the love of God.  God’s love casts out fear.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Humiliation

  1. sunsetwonder on said:

    It is very sad that people have to humiliate and hurt others’ feelings to make themselves feel superior. For Christians to act this way, it is a disgrace to God and to themselves.

  2. andydbrown on said:

    Some great thoughts! “I need to make sure I do not fall into the same trap”..AMEN! Same here!
    May we conduct ourselves as called for in 1 Corinthians 4: “When we are cursed, we bless; when we are persecuted, we endure it; when we are slandered, we answer kindly.”

  3. How much better to be like Jesus and lead from a position of serving. Servant leadership.

    Was blessed by this post.

Leave a Reply

