master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Challenging God or challenging us?

This is something that I have been thinking about for a while – coming to terms where I stand when I am challenged and is that challenge directed towards me or to God?

Since I entirely depend upon God in all things, what if He withdraws His help?  Will I be so bold and daring?  How will I know He is with me or not with me?

I think of Jonathan and his body-guard putting a fleece out there to see if God was with them or not before they went and killed 600 men of the opposing army.  Also David, knowing without a shadow of a doubt that no one defies a follower of God – and he went to take Goliath on.  Just a few expressions of how different we can approach God – maybe based on our relationship with Him.

I remember falling love with an Amy Grant song when we were both 18 years old – My Father’s Eyes.  I wanted people to look at me and see my Father’s eyes from that day on.  I believe they do.

So I have taken the position that when I am challenged for who I am, my character, my personality – the challenger is challenging God.  If it is a Christian doing the challenging, I always pray and ask God to forgive them, they do not know what they are doing.  If it is not a follower of Jesus Christ, I ask God for an extra dose of love so that I can show them what they see – in other words – make God’s love visible.

On the other hand, us super-sensitive or hypersensitive types need to take a pill and chill because it is not always about us, it probably has to do with resentment of seeing God in us in a special and unique manner that makes people lash out on any given day.

Thank God you are challenged, because if you were not – maybe you do not have your Father’s eyes – yet.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Challenging God or challenging us?

  1. ” How will I know He is with me or not with me ?”

    Simple,….If you can cope up with somebody who is challenging you. But if you were unable to cope up with chellenger, … Stranger, you have a problem.. As bro. Paul said:
    “Desiring to be teachers of the law ; understanding neither what they say , nor whereof they affirm .” (I Tim.1:7)

    “So ,I have taken the position that when I am challenged…….– the challenger is challenging God ”

    Laughing out loud.

    That is the position of a coward and of an ignoramus. Afraid that he might be proven to be a deceiver, or a liar. How dare you, invoking the name of God, on your cowardice . Even God, debates with people.

    Understand the following verses :
    1) Produce your cause, saith the Lord ; BRING FORTH YOUR STRONG REASONS , saith the King of Jacob. (Isaiah 41:21)
    2) Come now, and LET US REASON TOGETHER, saith the Lord. (Isaiah 1:18)

    Even bro.Paul suggested it, and bro John recommended it . So that, you will not be able to deceive anyone.
    1) PROVE ALL THINGS (I Thess. 5:22)
    2) Beloved , BELIEVE NOT every spirit, BUT TRY the spirits whether they are of God : Because many false prophets are gone out into the world. (I John4:1)

    So, if you are afraid of criticism, and NOT MAN ENOUGH , and have a doubt to what you will say or write, then I suggest that you don’t share anything at all , cause you will do more harm than good. And leave the sharing of the word of God to those who are CREATED and SENT by God to spread His glory to the Gentiles, in our present time.

    • wow – that is pretty hard – cowardice, afraid of criticism – amazing – and your calling card is “dove” – having an understanding of your faith and understanding of what you believe does not mean you have to be arrogant about it – love always wins and judging others never wins – then there are those who are unwinable – the arrogant Pharisees – no use throwing pearls before the swine

      • But that is how it should be, to BE BOLD. I’m not arrogant, it is you who is arrogant. Afraid of being corrected, always thinking that you correct all the time.
        A true Christian should always practice to stand up like a man in his belief. And if found to be lying, and corrected , accept it. EMBRACE IT !

      • Thank you – I appreciate the fact that you believe you were correcting me and in defining what a true Christian is. Fortunately I follow Jesus as my example and I will be bold in love and that love will be in my actions – for the gospel needs no defense from a human being such as myself – for I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live, yet not I, but Christ lives in me, so that the life I now live, I live not in the flesh, but in the trust of the Lord who gave His life for me. We can praise the Lord together!

      • Did you really? Your talking to your mouth . Barnabas is not appointed to be an apostle to you. It is Bro. Paul.
        Why do you keep on insisting on your stupidity and ignorance ?

        If you cannot cope up with criticism, don’t publish anything . Don’t show to the world your ignorance.

        I’m done !

  2. “Fortunately I follow Jesus as my example and will be bold in love and that love will be in my action”

    Unfortunately, you did not follow Jesus Christ, what you follow is your volition, your own desire, which is caused by your ignorance of the words of God.
    You see, you can only be a follower of Christ, IF you adhere, or listen, to the Gospel of Bro. Paul .
    Bro. Paul, was a CHOSEN VESSEL by Jesus Christ, the only apostle of Jesus Christ, assigned to BEAR HIS NAME, to be A LIGHT , to PREACH, to TEACH to the Gentiles, and to kings, and to children of Israel.
    As Jesus Christ hath said : “If they listen to you, they listen to the one who sent you, and to the one who sent me.”
    And few of the teaching of Bro. Paul are the ff.:
    # Fight the good fight of faith , ..(I Tim.6:12)
    # Run not as uncertainly; so fight, not as one that beateth the air (I Cor.9:26)
    # For we wrestle not against FLESH and BLOOD, but against principalities, against power, against the RULER OF THE DARKNESS of this world, against SPIRITUAL WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES. (Ephesians 6:12)

    So , if you don’t accept criticism in an open, and just hide to your so-called “love”, you are not worthy, to fight. And that mean only one thing, you are AFRAID !
    Why? because of lack of knowledge and understanding to the words of God, and NO SPIRIT OF GOD guiding you.

    I will borrow the word of Paul :
    “I though I be RUDE in speech, but not in knowledge”

Leave a Reply

