master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

When is love not love

I have to be careful here because I am not, in any way, shape or form, a counselor.  However, it scares me these days to hear what people are doing in the name of love.  Whether love is the alternate word for obsession, lust, power, abuse, control, manipulation – and I am sure the list can grow past this if we engage with a narcissist.

This is where we see the worse side of the church.  I am not sure how many times we can read 1 Corinthians 13 – the love chapter – we fail to see that it has nothing to do with what we do, how we speak, how we act – for there is a power of the will that can be engaged in people.  We fail to realize that we may fool some people some times or a lot of people all the time, but God, who knows our heart is the only one who will call us out.

Yes, I am fully aware of John 15 and Galatians 2 and even a bit of James for good measure.  Those are great tools to help us in our discernment.  Probably 1 and 2 John need to be added there as well.

However, I still say, lets look at their character.  Are they able to tell God’s story with love?  If they sound like an Old Testament prophet, I am wary.  If they put anyone down, I am wary.  If they exclude anyone, or put themselves above anyone, I am wary.  If they reverse profile by suggesting that you cannot take criticism, I am wary, if they raise their voice and become demonstrative and say that it is because they are passionate, I am wary.

I am wary is my way of saying that I withhold judgement.  I prefer to love, I want to love, I seek to love, I make the decision to love – how else can I approach my enemy with love unless it is sincere and real.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

