master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Doing it anyway

We know the right thing to do, we know what God wants us to do, we know what is best for us and yet we still do what we want to do anyway.

Why?

We have clear instructions so we can’t say we are confused when we chose to disregard God’s direction.  Ever notice that when we do our own thing that we do it in style – not just a simple, quick expression of rebellion, but we go all out.

There are the things that slowly take us away from the things of God.  God knows our human nature – our weakness and our strengths – and His instructions are there for our own good.

There are consequences for such actions too.  It brings up the point we have heard many times – it’s not enough to know God’s Word or even to believe it, we must follow it and apply it to life’s daily activities and decisions.

I think it is a decision we make each day to take God seriously for even the wisest man in the world messed up – for we are not as strong as we may think.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Doing it anyway

  1. …”we do our own thing that we do it in style”
    ouch.the.truth hurts.
    Well said.
    Shine on,
    C

  2. Here’s TWO reason why we don’t do it:

    Jeremiah 13:23: “Can the Ethiopian change his skin, or the leopard his spots? then may ye also do good, that are accustomed to do evil.”

    That word “accustomed” means “trained, discipled.” We are DISCIPLED to do evil. It’s like trying to turn a speed boat on autopilot from it’s direction. It will eventually go back to where it was going.

    And the second reason:

    Romans 8:7: “Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: for it is NOT subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be.”

    We don’t think like God fully YET because we are “trained and discipled to do evil” The word “enmity means “DEEP SEATED HATRED”. Our disciples and trained to do evil minds are ROOTED in hatred against God. For our carnal minds ARE NOT subject to God’s Spiritual Laws NOR can it be. That’s why Paul says BE RENEWED in our minds.

    The word “repent” in the Greek means, “to think differently towards, to reconsider”. When Jesus said “Repent and believe the Gospel of the Kingdom” what He was basically saying was, “Change your thinking and believe and believe the Great News about God’s Spiritual Government.” But …. but we cannot! We are “accustomed to do evil.”

    Well then HOW do we “change our minds (repent)”? Simple. ONLY God can do it. Paul said in Romans 2:4: “Or despisest thou the riches of his goodness and forbearance and longsuffering; not knowing that the GOODNESS of God leadeth thee to repentance?”

    God’s goodness, grace, and love will always overcome the evil with His good. Most people all they know is EVIL. They need to SEE and have a revelation of God’s love for them in the person of Jesus dying for THEM on the Cross. I have to personally see and realize how Good God is by putting Himself in human flesh to relate with me in my dilemma and and cover the multitude of my sins with His love. I love God, because He love me first. He that loves me (said Jesus) KEEPS my commandments says John 15. After I have realized that God loves ME, then I will LOVE HIM BACK by doing what He asks me to do. But If I don’t think He loves me, then God is still (as Paul said) an enemy in my own mind! I will still hate Him deeply with my own carnal mind and still do evil that I am trained and accustomed to do.

    People need to SEE the Good (works) of us and say, “That’s God in them! God sent this ‘Christian’ to LOVE ME! Now I know personally that God loves ME. Now I will wipe his feet with my tears and and anointed His head with the best perfume. And I will hear God in Christ say to others who condemn me, ‘Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.’ (Luke 7:47)”

    • That has to be the most awesome comment ever – what a great way to balance my post – words of truth my friend!

      • Thanks! I’m the type of person who reads the Scriptures not just for doctrine, or correction, or reproof, or instructions in righteousness (2 Tim 3:16-17), but I read it for Scriptures that gives me the “WHY?” I will ask a question like, “God WHY is there division among the churches?” And I will search the Scriptures and find a verse like this for the answer, “For first of all, when ye [all of you] come together in the church, I hear that there be DIVISIONS among you; and I partly believe it. For there MUST BE ALSO [with divisions] HERESIES among you, that they which are approved [are preaching God’s truth] may be made manifest among you.” (1st Corinthians 11:8-19).

        Another translations puts it like this, which I got out of a KIDS DEVOTIONAL BIBLE:

        “First, here is what people are telling me. When you come together as a church, YOU TAKE SIDES. And in some ways I believe it. NO DOUBT YOU NEED TO TAKE SIDES IN ORDER TO SHOW WHICH OF YOU GOD AGREES WITH!” (New International Readers Version).

        Another translations tells us why there is division:

        “Everyone keeps telling me about the ARGUING that goes on in these [church] meetings, and the divisions developing among you, and I can just about believe it. But I suppose you feel this is necessary so that you who are always right will become known and recognized!” (The Living Bible Paraphrased).

        God told me when I first came to Him this verse: “Call unto Me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.” (Jeremiah 33:3).

        There’s nothing wrong with asking God, “Why?” The Bible tells us the why behind every question man ever has or will have. It was already written. I want to be able to give others, “… a REASON [the ‘WHY’] of the hope that is in me with humility and respect: having a good [clear and clean] conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of me, as a evildoer, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse my good behavior in Christ.” (1 Pet 3:15).

        This verse is where I got my Christian Hip-Hop name, “ReAsOn DiSciple”.

Leave a Reply

