master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

God’s patience

If there is a character of God that I depend on more than any other, it would be His patience.  I mess up so badly, so often and He waits for me, willing to forgive me, love me and see me through another day.  There are days where I do not even have the courtesy of saying thank you either for small or large blessings that He shares with me, so little gratitude for what He has done for me.

I know that without Him, I would have been consumed and lost.  His intervention and then willingness to favour me has set me up on my feet with confidence and boldness.

My story is not new.  I read about what He did at the Red Sea, with 300 soldiers under the leadership of Gideon, Jericho and the walls tumbling down, David and Goliath, Elijah and the 450 prophets of Baal, and of course the ministry, followed by the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus.

He is the one and only God and that He is and was and ever shall be. He is the Author and Sustainer of life. He is the Beginning and the End, the Alpha and the Omega. He is the Almighty.

Our God reigns, and our God rules.

God’s patience is the message we bring to a lost-in-sin world. We want the world to know that our God reigns, that He is the One and Only God, that He triumphantly acts to save His people.  Over and over again He reveals Himself and is continually rejected, refused.  Over and over again He calls us to spend time with Him, sit by the fire, talk a bit with us and we are too busy, we have no time for the God who created time.

He waits for us, patiently, knocking on the door of our heart until we invite Him in – gently, lovingly, with a heart of kindness, He bids His time so that we will one day taste and see how good He really is.

Until that day, He will continue to protect, guide, direct and bless us, totally disregarding our lack of gratitude.  His patience, thank you Lord for patiently waiting for me – today I come into your presence to thank you.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “God’s patience

  1. andydbrown on said:

    LOVED this post! Where would any of us be without the grace, mercy and patience of the LORD! And yet…”We have no time for the God who created time.” So much truth in this post. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

