master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

God gives us desires

I am pretty sure that we can’t even tell the difference between our desires and God‘s desires.

It looks like our idea, sounds like our idea, comes from a passion that we have – so tell me again, how is this a desire that is planted in my heart by God?

That’s still my main point – I do not know.  But I do know that God moves the hearts of people to accomplish what He wants done.  There are too many examples of this in the Bible to mention – never minding the fulfillment of over 350 prophecies in the OT about the life of Christ and how impossible it would have been for Him to fulfill them on His own.  God had to direct lives in order for the prophecies to come true.

I believe that each of us have a purpose in life that God has called us to and I believe that God instills in us His desires to accomplish those purposes.  I think it is one of the reasons we need to worship and glorify Him in all that we do – for what we do, is what He has called us to do.

It goes without saying that the desires you had before you met Christ, will still be the same desires you will have now that you have decided to be a follower of Christ.  That is why so many people who do great things, especially leaders that we recognize, need to understand that those good things were done because God wanted them done.  Once they recognize that they are not really in control and that God is orchestrating His plan through them, they are humbled.

I think that is one of the reasons Einstein is thought, by many, to be a Christian.  I do not think he was, but I do believe that he knew that God had imparted to him many wonderful things and most of all the desire to understand how the world worked.  He communicated that often and thanked God for the opportunity to serve in this manner.

May I suggest that we thank God for the many areas that we serve.  I believe we serve in them because God gave us the desire to do so, to accomplish something He needs done – and He chose you and I to do it.

Let us thank Him each day for that great opportunity, thank Him for calling us to a special task, thank Him for allowing us to be an important part of His plan and thank Him for caring.  May we have the graciousness to see His handiwork in those around us and let them know from time to time when you see what God is doing through their lives.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “God gives us desires

  1. Wonderfully written. God and His handiwork never ceases to amaze me, in others and in myself. All that we accomplish is for the glory that belongs to the Father.

    Have a lovely day.

  2. I agree with all that you’ve said. To God be the Glory, and may He be forever praised.

  3. In humility I say Amen to your post!

  4. This is a good one too! I wrote about something similar last year. Ps. 37:4 is probably my favorite scripture. Here’s a link to my post if you want to read it: http://uniquelyawesome.wordpress.com/2011/06/29/brain-washed-robots/

  5. I thought I was reading my own blog for a minute there. Alas, there are believers who actually agree with each other. That’s called a denomination. The follow ur dream church.

  6. Can you imagine a church for just people who are called “Erwin” – freaky how we are on the same page

Leave a Reply

