master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Go deep into the desert

If I was going to flee somewhere in order to save my life, I would go deep into desert.

Living in Canada, I might not have that opportunity – probably would need to settle with the wilderness or the Arctic Circle.

I think this comes from reading the Bible stories of King David when he was running away from Saul.  It also came from reading about the early Christians hiding in Petra, a very desert place in Jordan.

But the desert has a dual meaning.  Jesus spent time in the desert prior to his ministry.  I think they said Paul spend 14 years in Saudi Arabia and John the Baptist had his ministry in the desert.

Most of us would probably refrain from entering a desert.  I have been in one for a few months and only now am learning to embrace this quite time with God and using it to go deeper into my relationship with Him.  I can see why some leave their faith thinking that God has abandoned them in the desert, but I find that He is right there, just not as pleasant a journey but one exercising in discipline and remembering to keep things simple.

Either way, the desert is an image of a safe place.  Probably need to learn a bit more in order to actually survive in one, but I am intrigued.  I pray that we can embrace this time of isolation and discomfort as one where we rely totally on Him and trust Him to keep us safe and take us through.

http://youtu.be/U94lGTSzaoU

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Go deep into the desert

  1. First off – Billy Joel, always a favorite. He can be so prophetic and he doesn’t even know it.
    Second and more importantly, the desert is a place we meet God.
    I’ve been traveling in a pretty big desert recently, but I find that God has little ways to let me know He’s right there with me. I’m finding that I can actually enjoy the process, (really) even if it is painful, if I look at it not as trouble, but an opportunity to overcome.
    Christ in us, the hope of glory.
    Praying blessings for you each time I see another post.
    Thanks for keeping up your writing even when it’s difficult.

Leave a Reply

