master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Thirty years old

Just getting into the book of Ezekiel and realized something I had never seen before – Ezekiel was 30 years old when he began his ministry as a prophet.  Of course, Jesus was 30 when He started His.

I checked it out and sure enough, every priest that served in the temple was in training or an intern until he was 30 and only then could he serve as a priest.

I am really learning the importance of time to God.  It seems that even though He lives in a place where time does not exist, He sure likes being particular about time with us.  Ecclesiastes chapter 3 really takes on importance again.

Many men go through a mid-life crises around 50, I went through mine at 30.  I feel kind of special right now because I worked out a lot of things in my life on my 30th birthday.  I set my mind and my heart to follow Jesus, I accepted my call into ministry knowing that I would never have a salary that would provide me with more than I would need, and that I would die for my family – making them first in my life.

It was a difficult year but a great year when I look back at it today.

May we all take the time to watch God do His thing when its the right time to do it.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Thirty years old

  1. mary burrell on said:

    It’s easier said than done, but being in synch with God is a very wise thing. You don’t want to be aheadr behind. It’s important to stay before him and fasting and prayer and reading the word. It’s good to keep our spiritual ears open to hear our cues from the Holy Spirit.

  2. We need to be walking along with Jesus, like the disciples on the road to Emmaus, and leaning on the breast of Jesus, as the disciple whom Jesus loved; then wisdom and an understanding of the scriptures will be imparted to us and we will know that we are loved of God.

  3. This is my 30th year, and I am having a BLAST! I really do feel like my life is just beginning. It’s strange because, spiritually, this has been the best year and one of the worst at the same time. I can’t really explain it, but this is an exciting time for me.

  4. 30 is a good year. Here are a few:

    “And Joseph was thirty years old when he stood before Pharaoh king of Egypt. And Joseph went out from the presence of Pharaoh, and went throughout all the land of Egypt.” (Genesis 41:46).

    “So all the elders of Israel came to the king to Hebron; and king David made a league with them in Hebron before the LORD: and they anointed David king over Israel. David was thirty years old when he began to reign, and he reigned forty years. In Hebron he reigned over Judah seven years and six months: and in Jerusalem he reigned thirty and three years over all Israel and Judah.” (2nd Samuel 5:3-5).

    “Now when all the people were baptized, it came to pass, that Jesus also being baptized, and praying, the heaven was opened, and the Holy Ghost descended in a bodily shape like a dove upon Him, and a voice came from heaven, which said, Thou art My beloved Son; in thee I AM well pleased. And Jesus Himself began to be about thirty years of age, being (as was supposed).” (Luke 3:21-23).

  5. Ricardo my G=kids would call that your “Golden Birthday”. Enjoy.

    Turning 30 was traumatic for me. Don’t relly know why. I wasn’t keeping journals back then, just raising kids and believing God for a believing husband. It was hard time for me. I never really connected the two, but I can see now that God was using that time to prepare me for the now time. He was Faithful to deliver my husband to a stronger life in Him, and a life of servitude for widows and orphans. Come to think of it, back then, he was an absentee father, and it was a really lonely time for me (orphan?) Now, I have much endurance when it comes to him being away doing his work with these folks.
    I process while I write, so thanks for letting me process it here.
    30. It was a very good year.

Leave a Reply

