master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Leadership Training

Are you of royal blood or some sort of nobility?  Are you strong, healthy and good-looking?  Have you read widely in many fields of interest, well-informed, alert and sensible?  Do you have enough poise to look good as you meander amongst other leaders?

But what makes you a good leader?

Are you a critical thinker, willing to go against the flow if it makes sense to do so?  Can you ask the right questions tha allow those over you to come to their own conclusions without you telling them what to do?  Can you create the right test environment to prove your theories and thoughts are going in the right direction?

When I look back in my life I see the hand of God in everything.  I am not good-looking, and I have no formal education – yet the favour of God upon me is incredible and humbling.  I read ferociously, pray always, seek to follow Jesus with all my heart, soul, mind and strength, listen intently, ask questions and look much older than my actual age.

This is what I see as I look back over my years of training to be in the leadership position I am in today.  It is a long road.  It would have been shorter if I went and applied myself in some sort of formal education.  I think we all need it.  The apostle Paul himself, with all of his religious training, took off three years before applying himself into ministry – those three years were in learning, growing, disciplining himself.

May we never lose sight of the fact that we are in leadership training at all times.  Let’s learn today what we will need to lead with tomorrow.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Leadership Training

  1. mary burrell on said:

    To whom much is given much is required.

  2. You, my friend, are Fearfully and Wonderfully Made.

Leave a Reply

