master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

until my time is up

Until_his_time_is_up____by_CootjebPeople in control or power will do exactly as they please, even claiming no need for God or any god, for they sense they are even greater than they.  In the process they blaspheme the living God and yet go on being, prospering – until their time it up.  Little do they know that God’s plans are unshakable.

People who are followers of Christ will do exactly as they please, even claiming that all that they have is theirs – vacation time, house, car, job – and their needs and wants are more important and they place God in the position of a friend and go on being, prospering – until our time is up.  Little do they know that God has called them to a higher purpose, a missionary purpose, since the beginning of time.

There was a time when people used to say, “the Lord willing, I will see you tomorrow at three.” Today, we seem quite confident that we will see each other at three.  There is something special about holding time as an instrument of worship.  I have been practicing for sometime to be in prayer always.  I want to be able to make sure that I understand that my time is not mine, I gave it to God when I gave Him my life.  Time seems to be the element of my sacrifice that enables me to feel that I have actually given Him my life.

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.  Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart.  Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.  Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return. – Mary Jean Irion

“Take care of your body as if you were going to live forever; and take care of your soul as if you were going to die tomorrow.”
— St. Augustine
Time is one of the five love languages.  How will I express my love, through time, to my God today?
Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “until my time is up

  1. A good reminder that all of our time belongs to God.

  2. mary burrell on said:

    But my time is in God’s hands. It is in him I move live and have my being.

Leave a Reply

