master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Prayer is a powerful privilege

prayer a poweful privilege

I think that I forget this truth more often than not.

There is the temptation to boil prayer down to the Lord’s prayer, or prayers of petition or grace, even prayers of blessing – but powerful?

Then if I get to the section where it is part of the description of what the armour of God looks like – I think of a prayer of protection – like Psalm 91.

But you cannot look at the life of Moses and Amos and not see that to them prayer was a privilege.  Its harder to see it in Abraham because he did a lot of face to face negotiations with God and Jesus did a lot of early morning and all night stuff – so again we didn’t see a lot.

Both Moses and Amos got in good with God.  God would show them His plan for the future and both Moses and Amos saw the privilege of that close communication and asked God to spare the destruction of so many.

Is it possible that we have not stood in the gap for the world as much as we should be?  Have I taken my relationship with God so personal that I have left the things of this world to “just happen” when I could have made a difference by calling on the grace and kindness of God?

I have been reminded in the last two weeks to really think about praying for my nation.  Maybe I am the one who can stand in the gap, see revival grip my heart and those around me.  May I see prayer today as a privilege, and stand for those who either cannot or will not.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Prayer is a powerful privilege

  1. few people get to undastand th importance of prayer. Its more than talking to God.

  2. few people get to undastand what prayer is al about. Its more than talking to God

  3. mary burrell on said:

    Many don’t understand the minstry of prayer and intercession. People just think it’s about me and mine and no more.

  4. mary burrell on said:

    The effective fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. We don’t realize how our intercession can change things globally.

  5. I Timothy 2:1-6 Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

