master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

How long must I call for help before you will listen?

Photosensitivity

For anyone who has a vision for changing the world, this seems to be a common theme in prayer.  It just seems that it takes forever for God to intervene.

This impatience of mine only gets into dangerous territory when I interpret God’s seeming snail pace movements as indifference in the face of evil.

We all can see what is going on around us and who isn’t saddened by the news we read in our headlines each day.  Worse still are the injustices that we never read about or the corruption that is hidden from our immediate view.  What about our Christian friends around the world that suffer for the very fact that they are Christians?

As rampant as injustice may seem to be, I am not called to allow my concern to cause me to doubt God or rebel against Him.  I am called to consider the message of God and to recognize God’s long-range plans and purposes.  God is doing it right, even if I do not understand why He works as He does.

Another danger sign for me is as the circumstances around me become almost unbearable, I begin to wonder if God has forgotten me.  That causes me to remind myself that He is in control.  He has a plan, He will judge, I am to stay humble and be willing to accept God’s answers and await His timing.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “How long must I call for help before you will listen?

  1. Amen. Well said. He is in control, always.

  2. I wrote a blog about God’s silence during our prayers. Tell me what you think.

    Btw, like your blog.

    http://thepuritaninprada.wordpress.com/category/prayer/

  3. mary burrell on said:

    I have to remember God’s timetable is not my timetable. I guess that’s why we have exercise our faith. I just keep thanking him in advance for what I’ve prayed for.

Leave a Reply

