master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

Am I “following the Lord?”

am I following the LordIs there anything else in my life that I worship?

When I stand in absolute silence in the presence of the Lord I see, hear and feel the people, things and actions I would rather do than worship and follow Jesus and I prove it everyday it seems.

My heart is burdened for my strength does not come from Him, it comes from myself.  What hurts me most is I can see where I thought I was doing really well, but I know that His grace was there holding me, keeping me and blessing me even though I was unaware and unthankful.

With all the different ‘gods’ that surround our lives today, it’s no wonder that we are starting to relate more and more to the culture from which the apostles lead the early Church.

One thing is still missing from our first world nations – persecution.  That would straighten things up right away.  There would be no messing with this question – die following Jesus or do not follow Him.

There is another point missing – we are forgetting that He is coming again, to take us to be with Him.  He is taking those who follow Him and He will utterly destroy those who have made the decision not too – that means either by word or by deed.  He will not come as a babe, but as a King.  He will not be a lamb set for sacrifice, He will be a lion set to rule.

Each day I will ask myself – am I following the Lord?  I will answer to the affirmative and will ensure my life decisions and actions indicate that to myself in all I do and say.

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Am I “following the Lord?”

  1. Now here’s the tricky thing about following the Lord. If you read through the Gospels Jesus HANDPICKED and CHOSE those who HE WANTED to follow Him. I believe God changes not. I believe a lot of people “in the church” are not true members of the body and you can tell by their testimony. Jesus CHOOSES who He WANTS to follow Him. You do not follow Him without and invite. In John 6 many of His disciples walked no more with Him and then He says that only the Father can draw those whom HE WANTED to Him. Jesus Christ CHOOSES His sheep and SEEKS OUT His own bride. No one can “follow” Christ unless Christ wants them. Judas was an example of this. “Haven’t I chosen you and ONE of you is the devil. He WANTED Judas, because the Prophecy NEEDED TO BE FULFILLED. That means that God in Christ “knows them that are His.” A MAJORITY of the Church will hear “depart from me you worker of iniquity, I know you NOT.” He only KNOWS them that are HIS, that are CHOSEN! FOR MANY (the majority in the Church are) CALLED, but only FEW (THE MINORITY) is chosen!

  2. mary burrell on said:

    Well this is strong medicine but it needs to be said. I don’t want to be the one he says “depart from me I never knew you” That is so scary.

  3. Pingback: America Excels… and a host of other stuff I saw « Resting in His Grace

Leave a Reply

