master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

God’s Word endures!

the-enduring-word-of-god

I get so pumped about the fact that the grass withers and flowers fade but the Word of God endures forever.  So often when I hear that I think of the promises of God that I can hold on to, His truths which will always be true and His love that is never-ending, He is faithful even when I am not.

However, I think it goes the other way too.

When He calls me on my sin and I do not pay attention.  When He calls out the error of my ways and my judgement and I ignore that still, small voice.  When He reminds me of His justice and His holiness and yet I seem to be able to shrug off those Words – do I really understand that His Word endures and that the consequences of continuing to reject them will bring about a lot of pain?

So it is that if I truly believe that His Word endures than those same Words that were spoken to generations before me hold still true today.  They are very relevant for me.  I must read, study and apply it – learning the lessons from those who have walked before me so that I do not repeat the mistakes of others.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “God’s Word endures!

  1. mary burrell on said:

    Greatb post. It reminds me of a song from youth group in my youth. It goes as follows: “Out of James 1:22, Comes a call for junirs true be ye doers of the word. At 11 years old I thought this was corny and rolled my eyes. But at 54 yrs of age it is serious business. Yeah. I’m kind of glad my mother made me go to youth group. Thank God for godly moms and dads.

  2. mary burrell on said:

    *juniors true*

  3. mary burrell on said:

    “Be Ye Doers Of The Word and Not hearers only. James1;22.

Leave a Reply

