master of life in earth, sky and sea

…and the adventure begins, the most exciting and fulfilling journey imaginable

So you think you are blessed…

Funny thing about blessings…what we think are blessings anyway…maybe they are not…does that make sense?

I run into people everyday who say they are blessed and they specifically say they are blessed because they love Jesus.  However, in their love for Jesus, they ignore Him, never give heed to anything He has said, have no regard for others who believe and follow Jesus and ask them for a copy of God’s love letter – the Bible – and they bring out the big family Bible from the living room because that is the only Bible they have in the house.

What is our preoccupation to measure blessing with riches, ease, a lifestyle or any thing at all that can be measured?

I feel that our thoughts of blessing is going to send us straight to wrong place at the end of our time here on earth.  That fear is based on at least three different stories.  One is of a man who gains so much wealth, that he tears down his old barns to build newer, bigger ones to contain his wealth and in telling the story, he is described as a fool because that very night he was going to die and had to give an account of his soul.

Another story involves those who have served faithfully, preached in Jesus’ name, cast out demons and when they were shut out of heaven they were banging on the doors asking Jesus to let them in and He looked over and said that He did not know who they were.

The last story is the rich man who let beggars eat off the floor of his dining room.  When he died, he ended up in hell and the beggar that ate off his floor was in heaven.

If we are blessed, it’s only because we are called to be a blessing to others.  I pray that our hearts realize the seriousness of responsibility and that we do not rest in our spirituality because of our wealth or ease of lifestyle.  Let’s not be surprised on that day we approach the throne of God – may our only goal be to have our names written in the Lamb’s book of life and do whatever else necessary to keep away from anything that would blot our name from that book.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “So you think you are blessed…

  1. mary burrell on said:

    Well this is something to seriously think about. I don’t want to have a false sense of security thinking all is well with the Lord when I need to constantly pray and ask forgiveness everyday for some sins I may be aware and the ones I’m unaware of. I don’t want the Lord to say depart from me I never knew you. I’m trying to work out my soul’s salvation with fear and trembling everyday.

    • I was thinking likewise and I am trying to make sure that I rest not in my blessings for my salvation, but in Christ alone – hence coming to terms witht the fact that my salvation is in the death and resurrection of my Lord and not in my blessings – so I boast in Him and not in my works – right?

  2. mary burrell on said:

    Right evalaar.

  3. I think you have touched well in that area where we know something is very wrong, but we just continue to eek along without doing something about it good friend. I read this statement just a moment ago… “Those who observe our lives should be saying, ‘Look, there is someone who has abandoned his life to Jesus Christ and His mission.'” Sadly, I fear few (if any) say that of me. The examples you give are not simply rare examples of Jesus’ call on our lives. It is the only call He gives. We find no positive evidence in Scripture to bring comfort to our half-committed lives. Thanks for the reminder, it seems to be coming from all angles these days. Must be a message for me here somewhere. Blessings

  4. Pingback: YOUR BLESSINGS REQUIRE YOU TO REMEMBER OTHERS « VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a comment